Situated 2.7 Km south of Maldon, Australia's "First Notable Town."
This tunnel was commenced around 1882 by the Great International Quartz Mining Company, as an attempt to drive a tunnel right through Mt Tarrangower, intersecting the rich gold-bearing reefs that had been mined previously from shaft type mines on the mount. Work was abandoned at the end of 1884 after progressing only around 600meters. No gold bearing rock was cut, but the tunnel gives an excellent insight into the mining techniques of the 1880s. The tunnel was opened to the public in 1964 by the Maldon Progress Association and is operated today by a Committee of Management.
The tunnel was driven through solid rock in the search for gold by the Great International Quartz Mining Company between November 1882 and December 1884. It is known locally as "Carman's Tunnel" from the gully in which it is located.
The 570m (1870ft) long Tunnel is dry, clean, spacious, level and easily accessible to all ages.
Like the miners who drove the Tunnel, you will see by candlelight the unaltered features and techniques of gold mining in the 1880s just as they were left. Experience the tunnel's warmth in the winter and coolness during the summer periods.
Saturdays, Sundays, Public Holidays and School Holidays (closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and Good Friday)
1:30pm, 2:30pm, 3:30pm
Each tour takes 30-40minutes. Parties may be limited to twenty persons for ideal viewing. Special openings can be arranged through the Visitor Information Centre for week day visitors. $7.50 per person, minimum 4 adults.
Schools and Charter Buses can be arranged. Minimum charge $30.00. Try an exciting night tour or use it as a venue for meetings. For bookings and details, contact:
PO Box 64
Maldon, VIC 3463
(03) 5475 2656