The Beehive Mine Chimney stands out against the Maldon skyline and is a testament to the bricklayer who built it. Completed in 1863 and standing 30 metres high, it is the only one of its age and size still standing in Victoria. The builder’s name is unfortunately not known. Two metres were removed from the top after damage from a lightning strike in 1923 and there has been some repair work at the base.
You can park nearby and walk up a slight incline toward the chimney. On the left are the remains of the shaft of the ‘New Beehive Company’, one of Victoria’s biggest gold producers.
Adjacent to the chimney can be seen the stone and brick substructures for the boilers and steam engine that provided the power for the mine. Some time after the mine’s closure in1911, the chimney was purchased by T.B. Brooks (store in Templeton St) and W.E. Preece (town notary) as a monument to the gold won in Maldon and the town’s pioneers and miners.